Legal Status

The South African Independent Power Producers Association is a not for profit common law association based in Johannesburg South Africa.


The association shall promote the industry interests of independent power producers in Southern Africa, with due regard for the prescripts and limitations imposed by the Competition Act.

Management Committee

Chairman - Thomas Garner

Secretary General - Dave Long
Thembani MarhaneleMember
Andrew J CarrMember
Etienne RubbbersMember
Yousuf HaffejeeMember
Ian LangridgeMember
Brian DayMember
Heather GriffithsMember
Brenda MartinMember
Jean VenterCorporate Secretary

Management Committee consists of 10 elected members and the Secretariat.


The founding document of the association is a constitution that was adopted on 30 August 2010 by the interim management committee as, mandated by a meeting of stakeholders held in July 2010.

Download the Constitution

Member Meetings (From the Constitution)


Management Committee